Daily Retreat Schedule – May 21-23

The scheduled hour-long blocks will include a 10-minute break and there will be a brief transition period between shorter blocks.  

Friday, may 21

TimeEventGroupLength
12 PM Eastern
11 AM Central
10 AM Mountain
9 AM Pacific
Class members briefly introduce themselvesAll45 min
12:45 EDT
11:45 CDT
10:45 MDT
9:45 PDT
Interpreting Jazz Articulations (Ali)All30 min
1:15 EDT
12:15 CDT
11:15 MDT
10:15 PDT
Sacramento River Ramble – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)All30 min
1:45 EDT
12:45 CDT
11:45 MDT
10:45 PDT
Bach Siciliano – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)All30 min
2:15 EDT
1:15 CDT
12:15 MDT
11:15 PDT
Performance Tips for Low Flutes (Chris)All30 min
2:45 EDT
1:45 CDT
12:45 MDT
11:45 PDT
BreakAll45 min
3:30 EDT
2:30 CDT
1:30 MDT
12:30 PDT
Beginning Improvisation (Ali)All45 min
4:15 EDT
3:15 CDT
2:15 MDT
1:15 PDT
In The Shade – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)
-OR-
Daytime Blues – rehearsal (Chris/Ali)
Altos

Basses
45 min
5:00 EDT
4:00 CDT
3:00 MDT
2:00 PDT
Improving Breath Control #1 (Chris)All60 min
6:00 EDT
5:00 CDT
4:00 MDT
3:00 PDT
Spider by Jonathan Cohen – rehearsal (Chris)Adv. Basses30 min

Saturday, May 22

TimeEventGroupLength
11 AM Eastern
10 AM Central
9 AM Mountain
8 AM Pacific
Intermediate Improvisation (Ali)
-OR-
Altos and Basses Tone Development (Chris)
Int./Adv

Beginners
60 min
12:00 EDT
11:00 CDT
10:00 MDT
9:00 PDT
In The Shade – rehearsal (Chris/Ali)
-OR-
Daytime Blues – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)
Altos

Basses
60 min
1:00 EDT
12:00 CDT
11:00 MDT
10:00 PDT
WinterWonderland – sight-read, rehearsal and
play-a-long (Chris)
All60 min
2:00 EDT
1:00 CDT
12:00 MDT
11:00 PDT
BreakAll45 min
2:45 EDT
1:45 CDT
12:45 MDT
11:45 PDT
Improving Breath Control #2 (Chris)All45 min
3:30 EDT
2:30 CDT
1:30 MDT
12:30 PDT
Try and Catch Me – rehearsal (Ali)
-OR-
Sight-Reading session (Chris)
Adv. Altos

All Others
45 min
4:15 EDT
3:15 CDT
2:15 MDT
1:15 PDT
Jazzy Tips – Blues to BeBop  (Blues in Bb) (Ali) All45 min
5:00 EDT
4:00 CDT
3:00 MDT
2:00 PDT
Sacramento River Ramble – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)All45 min

Sunday, May 23

TimeEventGroupLength
12 PM Eastern
11 AM Central
10 AM Mountain
9 AM Pacific
Sight-Reading jazz-influenced pieces written by
classically-trained composers (Chris)
All60 min
1:00 EDT
12:00 CDT
11:00 MDT
10:00 PDT
Spider by J. Cohen – rehearsal (Chris)
-OR-
Bach Siciliano – rehearsal (Ali)
Adv. Basses

All Others
30 min
1:30 EDT
12:30 CDT
11:30 MDT
10:30 PDT
In The Shade – rehearsal (Chris/Ali)
-OR-
Daytime Blues – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)
Altos

Basses
30 min
2:00 EDT
1:00 CDT
12:00 MDT
11:00 PDT
Sacramento River Ramble – rehearsal (Ali/Chris)All45 min
2:45 EDT
1:45 CDT
12:45 MDT
11:45 PDT
Break45 min
3:30 EDT
2:30 CDT
1:30 MDT
12:30 PDT
Try and Catch Me – rehearsal (Ali)
-OR-
Sight-Reading session (choir pieces) (Chris)
Adv. Altos

All Others
30 min
4:00 EDT
3:00 CDT
2:00 MDT
1:00 PDT
Sight-reading continued (Chris)All30 min
4:30 EDT
3:30 CDT
2:30 MDT
1:30 PDT
Instructions for submitting videosAll15 min